Mendel, World Under-17 Challenge Update

World U-17 Challenge

Vees defenseman Griffin Mendel and Team Canada White are one win away from going for gold at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge in Dawson Creek, BC. Canada White faces Sweden in one Semi-Final this evening in the BC north

6pm PST/ 7pm MT/ 9pm ET (TSN 2 / http://www.hockeycanada.ca/wu17)

Canada White advanced to today’s Semi-Final match up against the Swedes with a 4-2 win over Finland last night. Sweden upset the undefeated Americans 5-4 in their Quarter-Final.

The other Semi-Final sees Team Canada Red face the Russians at 5pm PST (6pm MT/ 8pm ET) in Fort St. John, BC.

Mendel hasn’t scored in four games but has bee a key contributor on the Canadian blue-line. The 16-year-old has already gone deeper in the tournament than Tyson Jost and Dante Fabbro did last year.

Tonight’s Semi-Final game will be broadcasted live on TSN 2 and fans can also follow online at http://www.hockeycanada.ca/wu17, and on Twitter at @HC_WU17.

The gold medal game is set for tomorrow, November 7th, at 6:30 pm PT; bronze medal game is 2 pm PT.

Advertisements

About frodgers

Director of Broadcasting & Media Relations for the Penticton Vees
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mendel, World Under-17 Challenge Update

  1. Jean Mitchell says:

    Thx 4 update. Go Canada White!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s